Showing posts with label disconnecting. Show all posts
Showing posts with label disconnecting. Show all posts

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Getting over the hump that is this day...


It's been forever since my last post. I blame it on being totally plugged in for 10+ hours at the office and working on a computer for about 99% of those 10+ hours...except for the meeting after meeting after meeting I seem to be in these days.

I'm usually a very positive person. But today, I'm just not feeling it. So what better way to get my feelings out than to write them down type them out.

Emotionally (or mentally or whatever you want to call it), I couldn't be in a better place. Brent and I are as happy as ever and we're having more fun than I can remember in the 10 years of us being together; I finally have a handle on all my health and fertility issues; things at work are going SO great (for the most part), and I feel genuinely happy.

While work is all good and well and I LOVE what I do, I don't think I've ever been this stressed. Maybe I feel a bit overwhelmed with my project list or maybe there just aren't enough hours in the day. Being out of town just about every other week for two straight months certainly doesn't help matters (not complaining at all, as I'm so thankful for my travel destinations and the experience I'm gaining...just stating a fact).

One phrase I really like to reiterate to myself is: do one thing, do it well, and then move on to the next. Basically, don't get so bombarded where you're doing five things at once (most likely poorly) and doing nothing well. But lately, I feel like there's no time to get just one thing done. There's a distraction everywhere I turn – someone's asking me a question (or five), someone else is pulling me into a meeting, someone is throwing another project in my lap. And all the while, I am getting so annoyed and bent out of shape by the smallest things – someone's breathing too loud, someone left their phone on the loudest ring possible, someone is clearing their throat every 2.5 seconds (OMG, this one is a pet peeve!!). Bitter, much? Ugh, thank goodness for running. There's no better stress reliever! Well...maybe one thing. ;)

Please don't get me wrong, I absolutely love my job and what I do. I have a great boss and work with some pretty awesome people. And I'm VERY thankful for everything it's given back to me. I'm also thankful for my fabulous assistant, who helps me with all the every day tasks so I can focus on other projects. Don't think I could function without her! I guess I just needed to get all that out before I saw another gray hair come in.

Ahhhhh...I feel better already! Happy hump day, everyone!




Wednesday, July 20, 2011

It's time to disconnect!

Being in the marketing field, it's really hard to totally disconnect when I'm not at the office. I (with the help of my fabulous intern, Raquel) manage all of our social media, I'm constantly getting work-related emails, and of course, I'm obsessed with Facebook...and Twitter...and now Google+ (great, just what I needed: another social network). And it just so happens that I have a super awesome smart phone, so the entire social world is literally at the palm of my hand.

My husband, on the other hand, barely knows how to log on to Facebook. He has the oldest phone known to man, checks his email every other day, and...well, no need to bore you with any more. His job doesn't require him to be "connected" like mine. Sure he's on the phone 24/7, but rarely does that involve anything more than a verbal conversation.

Lately, my addiction to social media has become more than just a mild annoyance. The medication I'm on (combined with what I'm hoping aren't chronic kidney stones) already makes me oh so pleasant to be around, so adding my complete lack of attention to the equation is...let's just say it hasn't been so great for married life. The hubby actually brought this to my attention before realizing it on my own, and that upset me a great deal.

No more! Starting now After this post, I'm going to put away my laptop, plug in my phone, and just be me when I get home. We get so wrapped up in the new "normal" form of communication that we forget to talk and actually communicate...or at least that's how it's been for me. So I'm looking forward to disconnecting a little more often! :)


Anyone else feel this way?